Our management

John Armitt

Sir John Armitt, Chairman

Sir John Armitt is currently Deputy Chairman of Berkeley Group Holdings PLC, Chairman of City and Guilds, Chairman of the Olympic Delivery Authority and a member of the Transport for London Board. Sir John was Chairman of the Engineering and Physical Science Research Council until 31 March 2012. From 2001 to 2007 he was Chief Executive of Network Rail and its predecessor, Railtrack. In 1997 he was appointed as Chief Executive of Costain Group PLC, a position he held until 2001. Before this Sir John was Chief Executive of Union Railways, the company responsible for the development of the high speed Channel Tunnel Rail Link. This followed a 27-year career at John Laing PLC.

Sir John assumed the role of Chairman on 1 February 2013.

Appointment to Board: 1 January 2013

Committee Membership(s): Nomination Committee (Chairman), Safety and Environment Committee.

Dean Finch

Dean Finch, Group Chief Executive

Prior to joining National Express, Dean Finch was Group Chief Executive of Tube Lines from June 2009. Before that he worked for over 10 years in senior roles within First Group plc. He joined First Group in 1999 having qualified as a Chartered Accountant with KPMG, where he worked for 12 years specialising in Corporate Transaction Support Services, including working for the Office of Passenger Rail Franchising on the privatisation of train operating companies. At First Group, he was Managing Director of the Rail Division from 2000-2004 and then was appointed to the main board as Group Commercial Director in 2004, before being made Group Finance Director. With the completion of the Laidlaw acquisition he became Chief Operating Officer in North America before returning to the UK as Group Chief Operating Officer.

Appointment to Board: 15 February 2010

Meet Dean Finch


Matthew Ashley, Group Finance Director

Matthew Ashley joined National Express as Group Financial Controller in 2010 from Deloitte where he was a Director specialising in transport and infrastructure and the auditing of listed companies, having previously qualified as a Chartered Accountant in 1998. He was then promoted to the role of Finance Director of the UK Bus division in 2013 before becoming interim Group Finance Director in October 2014.

Appointment to Board: 28 January 2015

Jackie Hunt

Jackie Hunt, Senior Independent Director

Jackie Hunt was appointed Chief Executive of Prudential UK & Europe in September 2013. She joined Prudential from Standard Life where she was Chief Financial Officer. Prior to this, Jackie held a number of senior financial management positions in companies including Norwich Union Insurance, Aviva, Hibernian Group, Royal & SunAlliance and PricewaterhouseCoopers. Jackie was also Chair of the Association of British Insurers’ Prudential Financial and Taxation Committee. Jackie was appointed Senior Independent Director and Chair of the Audit Committee from 26 February 2014.

Appointment to Board: 13 September 2012

Committee Membership(s): Audit Committee (Chair), Safety & Environment Committee

Joaquin Ayuso

Joaquín Ayuso, Non Executive Director

Joaquín Ayuso is Board Vice Chairman for Ferrovial, the €12 billion Spanish transport infrastructure and services group that employs over 70,000 people worldwide. He has been with Ferrovial since 1981 and was appointed CEO in 2002 and held that position until October 2009. During this period Ferrovial expanded internationally with business interests in the UK, US, Canada, Latin America and Europe. He is currently a Non-Executive Director of Bankia, Chairman of the Board of Ausol in Spain and Senior Advisor to AT Kearney in Spain and Portugal.

Appointment to Board: 1 June 2011

Committee Membership(s): Safety & Environment Committee, Nomination Committee

Jorge Cosmen

Jorge Cosmen, Deputy Chairman

Jorge Cosmen was appointed to the Board at the time of the ALSA transaction. He was appointed Deputy Chairman in October 2008. He was Corporate Manager for the ALSA Group from 1995, becoming Chairman in 1999. Between 1986 and 1995, he worked in sales, distribution and banking. He is a Business Administration graduate and has an International MBA from the Instituto de Empresa in Madrid. He is Non-Executive Director of Bankia, as well as of other private companies.

Appointment to Board: 1 December 2005

Committee Membership(s): Safety and Environment Committee, Nomination Committee

Andrew Foster

Sir Andrew Foster, Non Executive Director

Sir Andrew Foster has had an extensive career in the public sector, having served as Chief Executive of the Audit Commission for England and Wales between 1992 and 2003. Before this, he was Deputy Chief Executive of the NHS and Regional CEO for Yorkshire. He currently works for Royal Bank of Canada and is Chairman of Commonwealth Games England. He is also Non-Executive Director at PruHealth. Sir Andrew has conducted independent reviews for the Government into the Intercity Express Project, the Building Colleges for the Future programme, and previously into Further Education and the Future of Athletics.

Appointment to Board: 1 August 2004

Committee Membership(s):  Remuneration Committee (Chairman), Safety and Environment Committee, Nomination Committee, Audit Committee

Jane Kingston

Jane Kingston, Non Executive Director

Jane Kingston is currently Group Human Resources Director at Compass Group PLC and was previously Group Human Resources Director at BPB PLC. Prior to this Jane has worked in a variety of sectors including roles in Blue Circle Industries PLC, Enodis PLC and Coats Viyella PLC.

Appointment to Board: 26 February 2014

Committee Membership(s): Remuneration Committee, Safety & Environment Committee

Chris Muntwyler

Chris Muntwyler, Non Executive Director

Chris Muntwyler is CEO and Chairman of the Swiss Management Consulting company Conlogic Ltd. He is also Non-Executive Director of Panalpina World Transport (Holding) Ltd. (Switzerland) and the Austrian Post Ltd. (Austria). During his 27 years at Swissair he held top executive positions in Switzerland, Sweden and North America. In 1999 he joined DHL Express serving as Managing Director Switzerland, Germany and Central Europe and from 2005 to 2008 as CEO of DHL Express (UK) Ltd. based in London.

Appointment to Board: 11 May 2011

Committee Membership(s): Audit Committee, Safety & Environment Committee (Chairman)

Lee Sander

Lee Sander, Non Executive Director

Elliot (Lee) Sander is President and Chief Executive Officer of the HAKS Group, Inc. An American citizen, he was recently Executive Director and CEO for the New York Metropolitan Transportation Authority and has served as Commissioner for the New York City Department of Transportation. Lee is Chairman of the Regional Plan Association, a prominent NGO based in New York that has played a highly influential role in gaining public policy and investments in the New York Metropolitan area over the last 80 years. He has also played a very active role on the National Surface Transportation Infrastructure Finance Commission, having been appointed by the United States Congress in 2006.

Appointment to Board: 1 June 2011

Committee Membership(s): Remuneration Committee, Safety & Environment Committee

Sandra Forbes

Sandra Forbes, Company Secretary and Group General Counsel

Sandra Forbes was appointed as Group General Counsel and Company Secretary in June 2014. Sandra is a qualified Solicitor and prior to joining she was a specialist banking and transport partner at Burges Salmon  where  she was the Head of the Corporate and Financial Institutions Department and the firm’s Banking Sector Head. Sandra is also a Governor at the University of West of England where she chairs the Strategic Planning and Performance Committee.

Appointment to Board: 2 June 2014